Science Rubrics

Exemplars science material includes standards-based rubrics that define what work meets a standard, and allows teachers (and students) to distinguish between different levels of performance.

Our science rubrics have four levels of performance: Novice, Apprentice, Practitioner (meets the standard), and Expert.

Exemplars uses two types of rubrics:

  • Standards-Based Assessment Rubrics are used by teachers to assess student work in science. (Exemplars science material includes both a general science rubric as well as task-specific rubrics with each investigation.)
  • Student Rubrics are used by learners in peer- and self-assessment.

Assessment Rubrics

Standards-Based Science Rubric

This rubric is based on science standards from the National Research Council and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

K–2 Science Continuum

This continuum was developed by an Exemplars workshop leader and task writer, Tracy Lavallee. It provides a framework for assessing the scientific thinking of young students.

Student Rubrics

Seed Rubric

This rubric is appropriate for use with younger children. It shows how a seed develops, from being planted to becoming a flowering plant. Each growth level represents a different level of performance.

What I Need to Do

While not exactly a rubric, this guide assists students in demonstrating what they have done to meet each criterion in the rubric. The student is asked in each criterion to describe what they need to do and the evidence of what they did.