Math Rubrics

Exemplars math material includes standards-based rubrics that define what work meets a standard and allows teachers (and students) to distinguish between different levels of performance.

Our math rubrics have four levels of performance: Novice, Apprentice, Practitioner (meets the standard), and Expert.

Exemplars uses two types of rubrics: 

  • Standards-Based Assessment Rubrics are used by teachers to assess student work in Math
  • Student Rubrics are used by learners in self- and peer-assessment.

Assessment Rubrics

Standards-Based Math Rubric

This rubric was updated in 2014 to reflect more current standards. It supports NCTM Process Standards and the Common Core State Standards for Mathematical Practice.

Classic 5-Criteria Math Rubric

This rubric was developed to reflect the revised NCTM standards.

Classic 3-Criteria Math Rubric

This rubric was used from 1993 to 2001 to assess student performance. It is based on the original NCTM standards. Many schools and districts using Exemplars earlier material continue to use this rubric to assess student performance.

Pre K–K Rubric

This rubric was developed to assess younger students' performance. It is based on recommendations from NCTM and the preschool standards developed at the Conference on Standards for Prekindergarten and Kindergarten Mathematics Education.

Student Rubrics

Jigsaw Rubric

This rubric uses pieces of a jigsaw puzzle as symbols. It is appropriate to use with younger students who may not be able to follow the words in another rubric.

Thermometer Rubric

This rubric is appropriate to use with older children. They can self-assess by drawing a line on the thermometer. The teacher can also assess by making a mark on the same rubric.